Log in


NAJAS’ Board of Directors consists of officers, representatives from each of our 38 member Japan-America Societies, 6 at-large members and 3 independent members with strong Japan connections. The Board includes an 11-member Executive Committee.

Executive Committee Members



Ambassador Kurt Tong

Managing Partner

The Asia Group


Mr. Andrew Wylegala



Ambassador David B. Shear

Senior Advisor

McLarty Associates


Vice Chair

Ms. Emma Chanlett-Avery

Director, Political-Security Affairs

Deputy Director, Washington, D.C. Office

Asia Society Policy Institute


Mr. Celso Mataac

Citrin Cooperman

At-Large Members

Ms. Patsy Brown

Executive Director

Japan-America Society of Houston


Ms. Anne Golden

Executive Director

Japan America Society of Greater Cincinnati 


Mr. Richard Raiford



Dr. William R. Farrell



Ms. Reyna Kaneko


Japan-America Society of Hawaii

Dr. Joshua W. Walker


Japan Society, Inc.

Independent Board Members

Mr. Barry Hirschfeld

President and CEO

Asia Investment Partners, LLC

Dr. Sheila A. Smith

Senior Fellow for Japan Studies

Council on Foreign Relations

Ambassador Michael W. Michalak

*Important note on the make-up of the NAJAS Board of Directors: The Bylaws stipulate that each member Society can have up to two representatives on the Board of Directors, but with only one vote per Society. Several Societies have yet to confirm their representatives so we have not listed them at this time.

Honorary Chairs

Mr. Glen S. Fukushima

Senior Fellow

Center for American Progress

Ambassador J. Thomas Schieffer

Founder and CEO

Envoy International LLC

National Association of Japan-America Societies, Inc.

1819 L Street NW, Suite 200

Washington, DC 20036

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software